7 Quick Takes Friday: 3/13/15 Edition

It’s that time of the week again! It’s been a good mix of things that were really monumental for me, and some that are a little bit calmer, and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

~1~

I finished the crocheting portion of my friend’s purple bikini, which I showed last week, and now only have to line it! My biggest issue right now is that I’m having trouble working my sewing machine, so I will likely end up having to sew the lining in by hand. But that’s not really a big deal. I’m just excited that it turned out so well!

IMG_1984

~2~

Spring is finally here. After U of M’s spring break happening during a friggin’ cold week, Sunday marked the beginning of the snow melting and the temperatures rising. Now, instead of ridiculously freezing temperatures, falling into snow, and slipping on ice, we get to deal with puddles. Really big puddles. This is Ann Arbor, after all, and when you combine the large amounts of melting snow with the unceasing rain that is sure to come soon, things will get interesting.

~3~

St. Thomas the Apostle Church is reopening tomorrow! Gosh, I’ve missed it. As wonderful as it is to go to St. Mary’s, I’m excited to go back to the beautiful church that has felt like home for the last three years (ever since I discovered it). I’m also looking forward to seeing what exactly the painting of the interior of the church will look like! I know that they were restoring the gold Latin words in the Sanctuary, behind the tabernacle, but not what else they were doing.

~4~

After several months of asking my friend about the products she sells for It Works! I finally decided to give some of them a shot. My doctor’s recommendation that I take dietary supplements to prevent being sick all the time was also a big factor in this decision. So, I started taking Greens and Thermofit. Essentially, Greens provides 8 servings of fruits and vegetables in two of the little scoops, which you put in your water or juice, along with a ton of other herbs and plants that help regulate your digestive system and detox your body. In water, it tastes like a combination of artificial orange with an aftertaste of spinach. The Thermofit is a combination of a cactus plant (which boosts your metabolism) and also provides a good amount of Vitamin B12, which is really good because I gave up red meat (among other things) for Lent.

It’s only been a week, and so far I’m noticing these changes: more acne, probably due to my body chemistry changing, and my jeans are getting really loose. My guess is that since my body is actually getting all of the vitamins and nutrients it needs, it’s resetting itself. I feel pretty good about it.

~5~

I’m knitting my first sock! I started it about a week ago, and even though it’s a very simple pattern and I’ve heard that many knitters get bored with simpler sock patterns, I’m having a blast. I’m especially proud of myself because I’m not an experienced knitter; crocheting is my forte, not knitting. It’s really relaxing to knit away while listening to a Rosary mp3 or a Pandora station, and I’ve been doing that a little bit every night just to de-stress before bed. Here is a picture from earlier in the project:

IMG_1987

~6~

I won a contest on Instagram about a month ago, which essentially gave me two vintage dresses for free! I only had to pay shipping. They are very cute, and I’m planning on wearing them for some very important photographs that will be taken sometime in the not-so-distant future:

IMG_2006

~7~

And finally, the most important event from the last week. On Sunday, my boyfriend, my brother, and I all went to the Traditional Latin Mass at Old St. Pat’s. It was beautiful. Having the Latin-English Missal really helped us follow along with what was happening in the Mass, and Father was considerate enough to say the readings again in English at the beginning of his homily. The music was gorgeous and reverent, and I can’t tell you how happy it made me to not be the only young woman veiling during Mass!!

After Mass had ended, Joseph (my boyfriend) asked me if I would like to go and pray by the statue of Mary at one of the side altars. Of course I said yes. Praying with Joe is something that I love to do, and something that has always brought us closer together and to the Lord. So we went up there and knelt down and prayed for a few minutes, silently. Then, when we were ready to go, we got up to head back to our pew to get our things so we could leave – or so I thought.

Joe stopped right in front of the sanctuary and hesitated. I thought he needed to go talk to Father in the sacristy. To my utter shock, he got down on one knee and pulled out a ring, and asked, “Maria Rachel Grekowicz, will you be my wife?”

I said yes.

IMG_1998

Leave a Reply

